• “Aegean Teal” is the forecasted colour of the year

BEHR’s trend palette tells us which colours will be in trend in the new year. For 2021, it is the blue-green "Aegean Teal". According Benjamin Moore "it is a color that creates a natural harmony and invites us to reflect and question ourselves"; it allows for a soothing, relaxing atmosphere, which is a very good choice for most of us working from home. 

Here is an example of one of our visionary clients who adopted this trend in her magnificent renovation in Westmount long before it became trendy.

Cuisine tendance Westmount 2020 2021

 

  • Velvet

We have known about velvet for a long time. But in 2021, it will be in every home: blue, mustard, bottle green and other colors inspired by jewels. Having a velvet sofa adds texture and a "cocoon" effect with a regal touch. Are you afraid to adopt this trend with a large investment like a sofa or a headboard? You can also integrate it with a lampshade, pillows, an ottoman or velvet throws.

Canapé en velour vert tendance

Photo credit : House Beautiful (West Elm)

 

  • Patterned wall panels

In traditional decoration, a choice of colour is made for the walls and then the room layout follows naturally. But this year, all decoration magazines will display textures created by patterned panels that bring an original decorative element and give an undeniable character to the room.

Mur texturé blanc, bureau tendance, télétravail

Photo credit : Decor Pad

 

  • Raw "industrial style" accents

The industrial style is defined by a combination of raw materials such as wood, metal, concrete and stone. A few years ago, these materials were reserved for industrial lofts. This style is now appropriate for any type of property. The living room is perfect to adopt it to complete a modern and vintage touch in this room.

salon industriel tendance 2020 2021

Photo credit : Our client Alexis Véronneau achieved this style naturally and successfully in his stunning properties in Downtown Montreal.

 

  • Line-art graphic

This trend will remain very much in evidence for the year 2021, whether framed on the walls or on printed ceramics, freehand line-art drawings make us think of Picasso or Miro’s work. This style allows one to dress a wall or add texture while remaining elegant.

Anne Gandal, the sister of our dear Marie, is a brilliant illustrator in France. Click here to view and perhaps order one of her prints ;) 

cadre line art, dessin à main levé

Photo credit : opposite wall website 

 

  • Plants

Plants provide lively textures and add a cozy touch that immediately embellishes a space and makes it feel complete. Some plants are made for particular rooms. If you  don’t have a green thumb, choose plants that are easy to care for. Plants are welcome anywhere in your house: the entrance hall, living room, bedrooms and even in your bathrooms. In your kitchen; aromatic plants are often pretty and also useful to prepare your meals. 

Here's a link to a local plant seller

Cuisine avec des plantes

Photo credit : Studio McGee

 

  • Natural materials

Organic materials such as linen, rattan, cane, wicker bring warmth and rustic charm to a property. All these materials bring a bohemian, country and rustic aspect. This trend lends itself very well to integrating warmth and character into an urban condo.

Salle à manger avec des matières naturelles

Photo credit: Studio McGee

 

So? Will you be adopting some of these trends? Have you already embraced them like Karine and Alexis? Let us know in the comments below!

By Ana Duque

• La couleur tendance

La palette de tendance BEHR nous annonce les couleurs qui seront de mise dans la nouvelle année. Pour l’année 2021, il s’agit du bleu-vert “Aegean Teal”. D’après le créateur Benjamin Moore “c’est une couleur qui crée une harmonie naturelle et nous invite à réfléchir et à nous remettre en question" ; elle permet d’avoir une ambiance apaisée, relaxante, ce qui est un très bon choix pour le télétravail. 

Voici un exemple d’une de nos clientes visionnaires, Karine, qui a adopté cette tendance dans sa magnifique rénovation à Westmount bien avant que ce ne devienne tendance.

Cuisine tendance Westmount 2020 2021

 

  • Le velours

Le velours, nous le connaissons depuis bien longtemps. Mais en 2021, il s’invite dans toutes les maisons, bleu, moutarde, vert bouteille et autres couleurs inspirées des pierres précieuses. Avoir un canapé en velours ajoute de la texture et un côté “cocon”. Avez-vous peur d’adopter cette tendance avec un investissement important comme un canapé ou une tête de lit? Vous pouvez également l’intégrer avec un abat-jour, des coussins, des poufs ou des jetées en velours.

Canapé en velour vert tendance

Crédit photo : House Beautiful (West Elm)

 

  • Panneaux muraux à motifs

Dans la décoration traditionnelle, un choix de couleur est fait pour les murs et ensuite, l’agencement de la pièce se fait naturellement. Mais cette année vous verrez dans tous les magazines de décoration, des textures créées par des panneaux à motifs qui apportent un élément de décoration original et donnent un caractère indéniable à la pièce. 

Mur texturé blanc, bureau tendance, télétravail

Crédit photo : Decor Pad

 

  • Les revêtements bruts “style industriel”

Le style industriel est une association entre des matières brutes telles que bois, métal, béton et pierre. Ces matières étaient, il y a quelques années, réservées aux lofts industriels. Ce style est désormais approprié pour tout type de propriété. Le salon se prête très bien à l’adopter pour achever une touche à la fois moderne et vintage dans cette pièce.

salon industriel tendance 2020 2021

Crédit photo : Notre client Alexis Véronneau et ses magnifiques propriétés au Centre-Ville de Montréal.

 

  • Dessin à la main levée (line-art graphic)

Cette tendance restera bien présente pour l’année 2021, que ce soit sur les vases en tableaux ou imprimés. Ce côté dessin à main levée, nous fait penser à des œuvres de Picasso ou Miro. Ce genre de tableau permet d’habiller un mur ou de mettre de la couleur tout en restant sobre et élégant.

Anne Gandal, la sœur de notre chère Marie, est une brillante illustratrice en France. Cliquez ici pour commander ces dessins.

cadre line art, dessin à main levé

Crédit photo : Site opposite wall 

 

  • Plantes

Les plantes donnent un côté vivant et embellissent naturellement un espace. Certaines plantes sont faites pour des pièces particulières. Pour plus de confort, choisissez des plantes faciles d’entretien. Vous pouvez en placer un peu partout dans votre maison, comme dans le hall d’entrée, dans votre salon et bien même dans votre cuisine (les plantes aromatiques sont souvent jolies et aussi utiles pour préparer vos repas). 

Lien vers un vendeur local de plantes

Cuisine avec des plantes

Crédit photo : Studio McGee

 

  • Les matières naturelles

Les matières organiques comme le lin, rotin, cannage, osier apportent de la chaleur et un charme rustique dans une propriété. Toutes ces matières apportent un aspect bohème, champêtre et rustique. Cette tendance se prête très bien pour intégrer de la chaleur et du caractère dans un condo urbain.

Salle à manger avec des matières naturelles

Crédit photo : Studio McGee

 

Alors? Comptez-vous adopter certaines de ces tendences en 2021? Les avez-vous déjà adoptées? Laissez-nous savoir dans les commentaires ci-dessous!

Par Ana Duque